Job Hunting is KILLING ME SOFTLY.

Not really, but it really is starting to get to me.

So basically, I’m in this co-op program in my university. For those of you who don’t know, “co-op” is basically a program in which the school gives you access to a bunch of job postings that you’re likely unable to find if you simply Google. You apply to these jobs, hope to get interviews, and then pray you get hired. Once you get hired/matched up with an employer, you go to work at that company for 4 months. Then, you come back to school for another 4 months, and repeat the job search process. This goes on for about 3 years. I don’t know if it’s different at other schools, but that’s how mines work.

So, first round of job postings? I didn’t get any interviews. I did, however, get a pre-screening job phone-call though.
I may or may not have sassed the interviewer.

Second round of job postings? There were like 3 new job postings, and I was qualified for practically nothing.
No job interviews.

Continuous round, in which job postings come up sporadically? I got 4 interviews.

Let me just take a moment to tell you about them.

The first job interview I had, I was actually super excited for. The man who interviewed me, you could tell, was super well-versed and knew everything. He was really kind, and you could tell he really took an effort to know the people he was interviewing. He told me I was the only student majoring in Legal Studies, while everyone else he interviewed was in Accounting, which made me feel more unique, and I hoped that I stood out. JOB WAS CANCELLED.

The second job interview I had, I was actually not really looking forward to. If I had gotten the position, I wouldn’t be able to live at home, which would mean more expenses for me to pay. Nonetheless, a job is a job, and after going through months of no interviews, I was hoping to impress. I then proceeded to get interviewed by 5 different people at once. Did it help the nerves? No, no it did not. Did they ask me questions I could only answer if I had gotten training? Yes, yes they did. DID NOT GET JOB.

The third job interview I got, I actually thought I did pretty well. But that aside, the guy who interviewed me was only maybe 3-4 years older than me. I thought he was pretty darn cute. Was there a possibility that his attractiveness might have caused me to mess up the interview without me being fully aware of it? Possibly. Nonetheless, DID NOT GET JOB.

Then, I was offered another interview when I was in Toronto. The catch was that it was a phone interview that was “hosted” by my school. So, I had to go back to my school, and have the interview over the phone. Keep in my mind that my school is a 1.5 hr drive away from Toronto. So, I traveled my ass back there, only to talk to someone from the company… which was located in Toronto. It’s since been over a month, and they have yet to get back to me. I’ve neither been accepted, or rejected. Although, at this point, I feel like it’s safe to say that I DIDN’T GET THE JOB.

Anyways, I just had another job interview yesterday. I really feel hopeless right now, so it’d be really nice if I get that job.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

