Mix Tape Masterpiece

Going through past Dailyprompts for inspiration again, and I come across this prompt and thought it was the perfect one to do on a boring Tuesday afternoon.

Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece

For anyone that knows me well, I’m into the very “mainstream” kind of music. When I was a kid, I was super into people like Hilary Duff. My first album that I went out to actually buy was those YTV CDs called “Big Fun Party Mix” or something. (If you grew up in Canada/Ontario, you should probably know what those are.) Then, around grade 6-7, I got really into J-Pop, and so my favourite group for the next 4-5 years was NEWS. My favourite member was Yamashita Tomohisa, but he left the group a few years back and it still pains me today. Then, in high school, my friends introduced me in K-Pop. 2009/2010 was the really big years for K-Pop with Wonder Girl’s “Nobody” and SNSD’s “Gee”. Today, I’m an avid fan of a lot of K-Pop groups, and any other songs I listen to are probably from Hong Kong artists or the mainstream American pop music you’ll hear on the radio.

So, instead of one “mixtape”, I’ll list 3: K-Pop favourites (of all time), Current Favourites, Timeless (songs I can listen to a million times and not get sick of).

1. K-Pop Favourites

  • SHINee – Replay
  • B2ST – On Rainy Days
  • KARA – Step
  • Jay Park – I Can’t Be Without You
  • G.NA – I’ll Back Off So You Can Live
  • 2NE1 – Ugly
  • Super Junior – No Other
  • Ailee – Evening Sky
  • f(x) – Pinocchio
  • Taeyang – Only Look At Me

2. Current Favourites

  • The Summer Set – Boomerang
  • Song Jieun – False Hope
  • Miley Cyrus – Wrecking Ball
  • Tyler Ward & Kurt Schneider – Let Her Go
  • KARA – Runaway
  • Raymond Lam – On My Way
  • EXO-M – Baby, Don’t Cry
  • EXO-M – Lucky
  • EXO-M – Don’t Go
  • Jessie J – Magnetic

3. Timeless

  • Raymond Lam – Love is not Enough
  • Tamia – Smile
  • Tamia – Almost
  • Taylor Swift – You Belong With Me
  • Hilary Duff – Fly
  • Ai Otsuka – Planetariam
  • Utada Hikaru – Flavour of Life
  • BoA – Every Heart
  • George Nozuka – Talk to Me
  • NEWS – Cherish

NOTE: A lot of the songs I’ve listed can be listed in multiple categories.
For example, SHINee’s “Replay” can fall under the category of “Timeless”
too, but I didn’t want to repeat any songs.

I hope you guys tried listening to some of those songs!
If we share any common likes, leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

